GalleryGallery Exhibition in Japan

I have just come back from two weeks in Japan where I had the fantastic opportunity to exhibit my work alongside Naoya Dois at the prestigious GalleryGallery in Kyoto. Organised by Prof Lesley Millar, the aim of the exhibition was to promote the MA course at UCA Farnham.

 

gallerygallery1

naoya-doisgallerygallery3gallerygallery2

jo-lovelockgallerygallery5gallerygallery4gallerygallery6

The Private View was held on the Saturday evening. We then went out to dinner with the gallery owner Keiko Kawashima a number of the internationally famous Japanese artists. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, we had an amazing time.

We gave a presentation at the Kyoto City University of Arts about our work and I took some sample for the students to look at. Despite the language barrier the students were very interest and asked lots of questions.

Being in Japan for the first two weeks of the new year gave me the chance to take part in many Japanese New Year traditions, and to undertake preliminary research into talismanic objects for my MPhil/PhD.

I hope I get the opportunity to return again as I found Japan to be such a beautiful and inspiring country.

Leave a Reply

